AfterShock Comics Announces Initial Slate of Writers

AfterShock Inks Deal with Garth Ennis, Writer and Co-Creator of the “Preacher” Series, Among Others

(July 7, 2015) Los Angeles, CA – As Comic-Con kicks off this week, AfterShock Comics, the recently launched comic book company announces its inaugural slate of award-winning writers.

The list of AfterShock writers includes: Jimmy Palmiotti (Deadpool, Jonah Hex, Daredevil); Amanda Conner (Harley Quinn); Paul Jenkins (Batman: The Dark Knight, Spider-Man, The Incredible Hulk); Justin Jordan (Superboy, Shadowman); Phil Hester (Ant-Man, The Flash, Swamp Thing); Frank Barbiere (Avengers, Howling Commandos of S.H.I.E.L.D); Marguerite Bennett (Batgirl, Sleepy Hollow); and Garth Ennis, best known as co-creator and writer for the Vertigo series Preacher and his nine-year run on Marvel’s Punisher franchise;.

Mike Marts, AfterShock’s Editor-in-Chief said, “When we launched AfterShock, our mission was to attract the best comic book creators in the business, and we’re beyond excited to develop original projects with these industry leaders. But it’s only the beginning.”’

Launched in April 2015, AfterShock Comics is a comic book company that combines the creative edge of an independent comic book publisher with the strengths and experience of a traditional powerhouse. In addition to Editor-in-Chief Mike Marts, a former Marvel executive editor, Aftershock’s executive team includes: Chief Creative Officer Joe Pruett, an Eisner Award-winning publisher and editor; Co-CEO Michael Richter, an accomplished media and technology executive, most recently at Facebook, as well as an award-winning filmmaker; CoCEO Jon Kramer, an entertainment entrepreneur with extensive worldwide production and distribution experience; President Lee Kramer, a film/TV production and development executive who has worked with some of the biggest names in Hollywood; and Senior VP of Investor Relations Jawad Qureshi, an experienced Silicon Valley entrepreneur and investor.

“Aftershock looks to be making all the right moves. I’m delighted by the arrival of a new home for independent, creator-owned comics,” said writer Garth Ennis, whose Preacher series was recently picked up by AMC for a pilot to be executive produced by Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. Writer Paul Jenkins added, “I couldn’t be more excited than to be working with AfterShock. As creators, we strive to find conditions where we are supported with trust and patience, while at the same time we are able to rely on experienced professionals to guide us along the path…. AfterShock is a creative breath of fresh air, and one that I intend to fully support over the long haul.”

In addition to unveiling its initial writers slate, AfterShock also announces an anthology of short stories. Those writers include: Jim Starlin, Amy Chu, Brian Stelfreeze and industry icon Neil Gaiman.

Please direct media inquiries to Aaron Marion of Fifteen Minutes Public Relations at or 323-556-9700.